Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This year for Christmas Eve I am in charge of making an appetizer and a dessert so I decided to experiment with decorating my own cupcakes. I’ve never made my own icing from scratch and never decorated anything with a decorating bag and different tips. They actually turned out great! Below are the instructions. Enjoy 🙂

 

I used a funfetti box cake that I had on hand to bake the cupcakes. I just followed the directions on the box. For the frosting, I found a simple recipe online. The directions are below. 

  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons whipping cream

Mix together sugar and butter until well blended. Add vanilla and cream and continue to beat , adding more cream if needed for spreading consistency.

 

Next, I divided the icing into two batches and added red food coloring to one and green to the other. Then I filled the piping bag with frosting and picked a random decorative tip. (I bought a multi pack kit at Michael’s) I definitely recommend practicing on a wax paper sheet or tin foil before trying on the cup cake. Try different techniques and play around. I didn’t follow any specific rules or designs. I added pearl sprinkles to the top of a few. Below is how the came out 🙂 

Image

