Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I will be the first to admit that I’m lazy when it comes to taking care of my skin, hair etc. I would much rather someone else give me a facial, massage, pedicure…but I mean who wouldn’t? With less than 5 months to our wedding I decided it might be time to start a beauty regimen. Since weddings are EXPENSIVE, even when you are trying to cut corners, I set out in my house to come up with cheap and easy home spa ideas. 

First stop, bathroom to start a hot bath while I quickly made my concoctions. I decided to use my regular at home facial mask which is AMAZING and super cheap. Queene Helene mint julep mask (I also love their mud mask) it’s really cheap and you can find it at just about any grocery or drug store. I applied the mask while getting everything else ready. 

Next up- DIY body scrub! This was so easy and worked better than I ever could have imagined. All you need is 1 cup of sugar and three tablespoons of Olive oil or Vitamin E. I mixed this up and set it aside. 

Now the hair mask…the ingredients seem strange at first but I promise it will be worth it. I mixed a small banana, 1/2 an avocado, 1 egg and three tablespoons each of milk, honey and olive oil. I used a whisk to mix it. Make sure you get all of the clumps out so it’s easier to apply. 

Next stop RELAXATION!! With my face mask already on, candles lit and music, I was all set for paradise. I got into the bath and immediately put the hair mask on. Do this in the bath because it gets pretty messy also make sure you brush your hair before you apply the mask. I twisted my hair up and put a clip on the top of my head. After I put the hair mask on I got to scrubbing! I used the body scrub from my neck down and it was perfect. Once the sugar exfoliates your skin the vitamin E or olive oil immediately rehydrates and makes your skin perfect. After relaxing in the bath for about a half hour I got out and hopped into the shower to wash off my hair and face masks. I recommend washing your hair twice and not doing this treatment if you need perfect hair the next day!! 

This was the perfect little at home spa day for me. I am going to try to fit this in every other week until the wedding 🙂 

