Tags

, , , , ,

The other day I was shopping for craft supplies at Michael’s and stumbled into the baking aisle. I’ve always admired anyone who can decorate cakes or make really pretty desserts. I’m an ok baker but it’s definitely something I want to improve on so stay tuned for lots more recipes and dessert adventures. I decided to buy a cake pop maker (it cost $29.99). I also got meltable chocolate both vanilla and dark chocolate and a few different types of sprinkles. You will also need candy sticks.

Image

The baby cakes maker came with recipes but I decided for the first time to use a box cake. I used a chocolate Betty Crocker Cake and followed the instructions on the back of the box. Next, I plugged in the babycakes maker and let it heat up. If you have a decorating bag, it’s much easier to squeeze the cake mix into the small holes this way. If you don’t have a decorating bag, you can use a plastic bag and after you fill it, cut a tiny bit off one of the corners and squeeze. The cake balls will take between 4-6 minutes to cook. Use the tool provided to scoop the balls out once they are cooked. Place these aside and let them cool. In the meantime, continue to make additional cake balls.

Image

Above is what the cake balls will look like after they’ve cooked. Some of them will come out uneven but you can correct this when you decorate.

There are a tons of options when it comes to toppings for cake pops. You can use icing, whipped cream, chocolate and then top with nuts, coconut, sprinkles etc. I decided to melt dark chocolate and white chocolate. A little trick to help the pops stay in the cake is to tip the end of the stick into the melted chocolate and then into the cake and allow it to cooI. Next I dipped half of the cake pops into each of the chocolates and after dipped them into sprinkles.

All in all they came out great and they taste delicious. I’m going to try experimenting with different flavors next time.

ImageImage

Image

You can also bag the cake pops for a party or entertaining.

