Every girl dreams of her wedding day, who she will marry, how he’ll propose even down to what THE ring will look like. Let’s go back almost 15 years ago, it was the first day of middle school in September of 1998. I can remember it like yesterday. I was nervous about changing classes and having a locker, secretly thinking “what if I can’t get it open?” My parents were being THOSE parents and were making such a big deal about middle school. They were up early making me and my sister breakfast and of course, taking pictures. But the worst was that my dad always brought out the video camera. Talk about embarrassing! Especially when there are about 7 other kids at your bus stop.

We finally got to school after what felt like ages and I headed to my homeroom. I quickly saw a few people that I knew from elementary school and felt relieved. After homeroom, it was time to go to our next class and that’s when it happened, that’s when I saw him. He was taller than most of the other boys and skinny with brown hair that was cut into the shape of a bowl(back then this was considered cool, not so much anymore!). We made eye contact and I couldn’t believe how blue his eyes were. All I kept thinking was who was that boy?

I headed to my next class still mesmerized by his eyes and sat down in the middle of the room. I grabbed something out of my book bag and when I looked up- there he was. I just about had a heart attack. Of course the teacher starts to take attendance and I am first like always since my last name starts with A. He continues calling names until he says “Richard Foy” and now I finally know who this boy is.

I could go on for ever but I am going to try to condense the rest. Richie and I starting “dating” shortly after meeting but it was middle school and boyfriends changed constantly. I dated other guys and he dated other girls. I had a serious relationship for 2 and 1/2 years in high school but when we broke up, Richie and I started seeing each other again, 6 years after first meeting. We decided that we couldn’t start a relationship because we were both going off to college and it would have been too difficult.

After college, I met another guy who I dated for 2 years. Shortly after we broke up, Richie texted me and a few days later we met up at a party. The second I saw him again all of my feelings from the past came back and I couldn’t believe how overwhelmed I was with emotion. We spent the whole night talking and laughing and catching up. It felt so great to be around him again. The next day he took me up to Lake Minnewaska and we went hiking and then had lunch at a brewery. I couldn’t believe how fast I was falling for him again. After about 3 months back together, I found out that I had to relocate to Minnesota for work or I was going to lose my job which I absolutely love. I was so upset because I thought I was going to have to make a very tough decision but Richie quickly said “I’ve let you get away too many times and there is no chance I’m letting you move to Minnesota without me.” I knew in that moment he was definitely a keeper. We moved to St. Paul, Minnesota in October of 2011. It was difficult to leave our family and friends behind but I knew it was the best move for my career. So let’s FINALLY get to the nitty gritty of the proposal.

It was Tuesday, December 20, 2011. It started as a normal day, we both went to work. I had a late meeting that was cancelled so I headed home early. I called Richie and let him know and he told me to go get a pedicure or work late. He was acting strange, oh well, I headed home. He called me about 45 minutes later and told me to be ready to go out to eat. But i didn’t want to. I was in my pajamas, starting to cook dinner and I just wanted to relax. He seemed aggravated when I kept saying no. About 30 minutes later my cell phone rang and it was Richie, he asked me to open our apartment door cause he had too much stuff.  When I opened the door, there he was down on one knee, holding a ring box. I almost had a heart attack. He said “I want to know if you will spend forever with me?” I immediately starting crying and kissing him and then he took the most beautiful ring out of the box and onto my finger. He then told me that he had the ring custom made so that he could incorporate a small diamond that my grandfather proposed to my grandmother with and my father proposed to my mother with. It was the cutest and most thoughtful idea in the world. Next he explained, that he had this plan to set the whole apartment up with flowers and candles but I got out of work early. So he made reservations at our favorite restaurant to do it there and then I wouldn’t go out to dinner. He said he was so nervous that he had to do it and couldn’t wait. It was absolutely adorable and perfect. I knew from the day that I first looked into his blue eyes that we had something really special and now I get to spend my whole life with my best friend and soul mate.

We just started wedding planning so I will update you with some of our ideas!

